Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot of Kenya has won the 114th Boston Marathon and broken the course record with a time of 2 hours 5 minutes 52 seconds.

The previous record was set in 2006 by four-time winner and namesake Robert Kipkoech Cheruiyot, who's not related.

Cheruiyot finished 91 seconds ahead of Tekeste Kebede of Ethiopia while defending champion Deriba Merga was third.

Teyba Erkesso of Ethiopia won the women's race in 2:26:11, outsprinting Tatyana Pushkareva of Russia to win by three seconds in the third-closest women's finish in event history.

Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa won a record ninth Boston men's wheelchair race by four seconds.

Van Dyk edged Krige Schabort of the United States in a sprint finish, winning in 1:26:5.

The women's wheelchair race was comfortably won by Wakako Tsuchida of Japan, her fourth consecutive Boston title.

She clocked 1:43:32, 3:36 ahead of Diane Roy of Canada.