Saturday, March 10, 2012

Sport PEI announces finalists for annual awards banquet

Sport PEI announces finalists for annual awards banquet

Sport PEI has announced the finalists for the 2011 Amateur Sport Awards, which will be presented on Tuesday, March 27 at the annual banquet at the Rodd Royalty in Charlottetown.

2011 saw some outstanding performances by Island athletes and teams both nationally and internationally, and their achievements, along with the province’s leading administrators, officials and coaches, will be recognized at the dinner which has become one of the highlights of the provincial sporting calendar.
Ticket details for the banquet will be announced shortly, and detailed bios of the finalists will be released by Sport PEI in the lead-up to the evening. Emcees for the dinner will be Matt Rainnie of CBC’s Island Morning, and long-time host of the event, Joanne Holden.

The full list of finalists is as follows:
Bell Aliant Senior Male Athlete: Mark Arendz (paranordic skiing and biathlon), Jared Connaughton (athletics), Brandon Gormley (hockey)
Senior Female Athlete: Katie Baker (field hockey), Alyssa Chapman (Special Olympics figure skating), Abby Goodwin (rugby)
Junior Male Athlete: Robert MacMillan (boxing), James Profit (swimming), Parker Ramsay (gymnastics)
Rodd Hotels & Resorts Junior Female Athlete: Paige Crowell (swimming), Lorena Ellis (judo and wrestling), Shannon MacAulay (hockey)
Masters Athlete: Paul Dalton (triathlon), Jen Nicholson (distance running), Paul Wright (cross country skiing)
Paperflow Intercollegiate Male Athlete: Simon Hood (Holland College, soccer), Kurt McCormack (Dickenson State, athletics), Connor McGuire (St. F.X, cross country running)
Paperflow Intercollegiate Female Athlete: Kathryn Hay (UPEI, field hockey), Veronica Keefe (Concordia, wrestling), Sara Stewart (UPEI, soccer)
Coach of the Year: Richard Douillette (Special Olympics softball), Jonathan Vos (soccer, pictured ), Howard Watts & John Chiasson (boxing)
SCORE Team of the Year: Holland College Hurricane’s Men’s Golf, Holland College Hurricane’s Men’s Soccer, PEI Jays Softball
PEI Mutual Official of the Year: Kay Atkinson (curling), Najam Chishti (table tennis), Nancy Hashie (figure skating)
ADL Administrator of the Year: Bob Bentley (biathlon), Kim Dolan (curling), Jamie Mutch (Roadrunners PEI)
Administrators to be recognized at annual awards banquet
Jamie Mutch
Outstanding effort certainly sums up Charlottetown’s Jamie Mutch, who is the driving force behind all the Roadrunner activities in the province.
Whether it is organizing memberships, acting as treasurer, compiling the results, recruiting new members or arranging the awards banquet, Jamie’s love of the Roadrunners association ensures every race is efficient and well organized. He also maintains the association website, which is a great source of information not only on upcoming events but tracking the association’s race history.
Race registration is one of Mutch’s ’s big roles, and it is not uncommon to see him register the usual latecomers, lace on his sneakers before the gun goes off, run a fast time, and be back to continue his administrative duties before the race is through.

No comments: